2019 RHF Memorial Scholarships Awarded

The 2019 Robert H. Finkelstein Memorial Scholarships were presented by Sheldon Horowitz, president of the Safe Harbour Group, and Rena Finkelstein at the July library board meeting.
This year’s winners are Jana DeVera and Hima Iype. Jana, who works in the information technology department, is entering her senior year at SUNY New Paltz, majoring in communications. Hima, a page in the youth services department, is enrolled at Rockland Community College, majoring in chemistry.
The scholarships not only represent Mr. Finkelstein’s deep belief in the value of education and the importance of the library in the pursuit of education, but also the commitment by Mr. Horowitz to support and continue the cultural and educational work begun by Mr. Finkelstein. We wish Hima and Jana all the best in their future endeavors.
Left to right: Howard Cytryn (FML Board), Vivian Street (Vice President, FML Board), Joan Soskin (FML Board), Sheldon Horowitz (President, Safe Harbour Group), Jana DeVera (recipient), Rena Finkelstein (President, Friends of the Library), Laura Wolven (Library Director), Denet Alexandre (President, FML Board), Frank Dailey (FML Board). Photo courtesy of Andrew Koblick, FML staff.